RSS

REVIEW { Nendoroid 136 } Touhou Project: Flandre Scarlet

30 Nov

After spending hours to tame this little vampire, I finally got down to get a proper photoshoot with her. I now present to you, Flandre Scarlet!

Classification: Nendoroid
Origin: Touhou Project
Character: Flandre Scarlet
Manufacturer(s): Good Smile Company
Height: 100mm

Though I did play a few games of Touhou and know a few common characters (with Sakuya, Patchouli, and Flandre being my favorites), I’ll be honest with you that that’s all I really am familiar with Touhou Project. With that, I hope I didn’t get any information wrong about it in this review and if I did, feel free to correct me!

Well, let’s finally get started with the review! We’ll start with Flandre’s box! Her box is printed in mainly amber and pink. I can’t say that these two color is a good match but they do at least look alright together. I especially fancy the pink bat wings arranged throughout the whole box!

Flandre comes with a pink backdrop–a color which I’ve always felt that displays an innocent and cute image but is actually hiding something horrid behind, which seems rather relevant to Flandre herself.
Now you’ll have to prepare yourself because you’ll be looking at a great amount of pink from here onwards which, honestly speaking, can strain your eyes a little even though pink is not that bad of a color.

Moving on to the next part, Flandre comes with a fair amount of parts and accessories.



Just look at those pretty prism shards!

Flandre uses a base whereby you have to dock and balance her on it. It was my first time having contact with this kind of base so I had a bit of trouble getting her to stand upright in the beginning. Even though I’m able to get her stand on the base easily now, I still find this base technically unstable in holding the nendoroid. I do like how this base is designed though–more pretty prism shards!

Flandre also comes with a note, mainly stating the contents’ components and also a caution note which, even though the hiragana characters are provided on top of the kanji, I’m too lazy to read and understand.

Now we’re finally getting to the more exciting part–seeing Flandre herself in action! I really love Flandre’s color scheme and design so she looks exceptionally good.

I’ve never thought this way about a nendoroid, but I must say Flandre has a really cute side profile!

One reason for that would probably be how nicely her hair frames up her face–it’s adorable!

She also gets some bonus points as there are no major paint slips or transfer anywhere, though many parts of the paint are not sharp and spreads out fuzzily. Example being the lines on her sleeves or on her pair of red shoes.

Ignoring those fuzziness though, I really love how her outfit is made with some flow and not just flat straight. If you find a good location with the appropriate direction of the wind blowing, a good picture’s going to come out definitely!

Flandre’s hair has a pleasant gradient of blond, white and dark yellow.
I really like that hair tail on the left side of her hair, but I wonder how it stays that way like a ponytail when there’s no sign of it being tied up.

The area under her hair has the darkest yellow.
You can also see how the wings are attached to her back here. Since it’s fixed on separately, it’s possible to move them around 360 degree, provided that nothing else blocks the way (simply mean, they can be adjusted to point higher or lower).

Even more plus points for Flandre because of the cute little fang she has when she’s giving a big smile! I love fangs.

Although Flandre’s pretty neat and well done, she does have many seam lines that doesn’t look lovely on both sides of her hair. Her front hair piece doesn’t fit snuggly to her back hair piece as well, which results in leaving a gap in between.

I found a scratch mark on the side of her hair as well. (Oh no. The holes on Flandre’s back is showing! That looks painful.)
I haven’t tried cleaning it off, but judging the way it looks, I have a feeling it won’t be able to come off.

The inner sides of the pair of her bent arms have a flat and shiny surface too which, isn’t something that would disturb her appearance a lot, but thought I should just point it out.

Now Flandre has swiftly obtained her weapon, Lævateinn!

The Lævateinn’s pretty okay. There are bits of rough surface on it but at least it isn’t brittle overall.

Now Flandre looks like she’s planning something evil or ready to go wild.
I assume it’s because they’re too tiny that the nails weren’t made very sharp (being too sharp isn’t good either), but they look like little peach colored beans on her hand to me sometimes.

With certain lighting, this evil looking expression of Flandre’s can look really great to it’s fullest extent!
Flandre with Evil Smirk

Despite her being really dangerous (or that she’s of at least 495 years) sometimes, she can be really bubbly and cute.
Bubbly Flandre Asking for a hug? No problem, anytime! …Well, as long as I’m not going to be eliminated afterwards.

Without her wings though, she can look just like a normal, sweet, and delightful girl.
Sweet Flandre Switching her outfit around a bit isn’t all that bad too.

Overall, Flandre is a pleasant nendoroid to have. With her outstanding outfit and colorful wings, she’ll definitely be a blast to your collection. However, I did find her poses to be limiting due to the type of hands and legs parts that she came with; all possible poses that I can think of are all the defaults printed on her box and there’s not much other good combination of the parts, so she’d be the type of nendoroid which I’d display for a long time without touching.

It’s a shame that seeing how awesome Flandre is that I have not been able to get her sister, Remilia, to join her, and regrettably, I don’t think I’ll be able to obtain Remilia anytime soo-
Flandre Stealing Some Dough No, Flandre, stop. I don’t have any more dough to spare!

We’ve reached the end of this review and Flandre’s showcasing time has to come to a close. I’ve changed a few things in the way I do review, especially my method of taking photos, so tell me what you think! Thank you for taking your time to browse! I hope to see you again!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2012 in Action/Dolls, Nendoroid

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “REVIEW { Nendoroid 136 } Touhou Project: Flandre Scarlet

  1. NY Otaku

    December 1, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    Very cute! I’ve been wanting to get her but she’s a bit hard to find these days

     
    • Rei

      December 1, 2012 at 10:17 AM

      Oh, did you miss her during the re-release? There’s one now on Mandarake though, if you don’t mind paying more than the retail price.

       
  2. yomizakura

    December 2, 2012 at 4:51 PM

    wow she look cute and evil :3
    i wonder if she have sister too..?

     
    • Rei

      December 2, 2012 at 8:55 PM

      Oh, she does. Remilia is her sister, but I personally find Flandre much cuter!

       
  3. パンダ焼き

    December 3, 2012 at 11:17 PM

    Aww gosh~ Flan-chan is soo cute~ her sparkly wings are definitely a plus point for her… but shes a little hard to find now isnt she?

     
    • Rei

      December 4, 2012 at 9:10 PM

      Yeah, her wings are very pretty! She got a re-release back in August, so I’d say her stock availability would have rose; there’s even one in stock on Mandarake now!

       
      • パンダ焼き

        December 4, 2012 at 9:52 PM

        Hahaha! I’d have to consider getting her form mandarake now~

         
        • Rei

          December 4, 2012 at 10:36 PM

          You wouldn’t be disappointed if you do! And I just noticed; hello fellow countryman!

           
          • パンダ焼き

            December 4, 2012 at 11:21 PM

            Hehe! Hello there~~ :p.. Do check out my blog? I’ve just started few days back and am looking forward to blog more often~~ I’ll link ur blog on mine when I’m back behind the screen :)

             
          • Rei

            December 5, 2012 at 12:36 PM

            Okay, no problem! I’d love to link you up on my blogroll as soon as I can as well!

             
  4. vivi-chan

    December 8, 2012 at 3:41 AM

    Very nice review! She’s adorable. Makes me regret a little for skipping on her.. bah.

    Anyway, I love how you use the inside of the box as your backdrop. It’s nice and colourful (^-^) The pink actually suits Flandre very well. I’m still debating on what I should use for Nendoroids that don’t have an accompanying playset.. >_<

     
    • Rei

      December 8, 2012 at 8:47 AM

      Thank you very much! You can always score her from Mandarake if you have some extra cash. I guess for backdrop, there’s either using the one that came with the nendoroid box; using different kinds of card stocks; or just straight from your desk with no special backdrop. Since your camera can focus only on the nendoroid and not the background, I think any of those will work fine for you!

       
  5. 赤信号

    December 18, 2012 at 3:39 PM

    My favourite Nendoroid of all time!! XD
    Congrats on scoring her!

     
    • Rei

      December 18, 2012 at 5:07 PM

      Haha, definitely! She’s always there on your avatar after all! Thanks, glad I did!

       

Share your thoughts!

 
